Manx Loaghtan

Die Schafe

Manx Loaghtan (ausgesprochen „Mänx Lochtan“) ist eine bedrohte Schafrasse, die ursprünglich von der Isle of Man in der Irischen See kommt und Anfang der 1970er Jahre fast ausgestorben war. Mittlerweile gibt es wieder ca. 1500 Muttertiere, trotzdem ist die Rasse noch immer stark gefährdet. Sie wird heute nur noch sehr selten gezüchtet, da sie den kommerziellen Anforderungen nicht entspricht, die ein schnelleres Wachstum der Lämmer und weiße Wolle vorschreiben.

Der Name ist gälisch und bedeutet sinngemäß „braunes Schaf von der Isle of Man“. Die Wolle der Manx variiert von Karamell, wenn von der englischen Sonne gebleicht, bis zu Schokoladenbraun, wenn frisch geschoren. Sowohl die männlichen wie auch die weiblichen Tiere haben Hörner. Die Männchen können jedoch 4 und in seltenen Fällen sogar 6 Hörner besitzen.

Die Manx zählen wie die Hebridean zu den primitiven Schafrassen, die sich ohne kommerzielle Schafzucht über Jahrhunderte an ihre Landschaft angepasst haben.

Unsere Jahrgangswolle – eine Rarität

Wir verfeinern die bräunliche Manx Loaghtan Wolle mit unserer besonders weichen, weißen Merinowolle und stellen daraus das luxuriöse Melange-Garn Manx Merino Fine her. Es ist aus vielerlei Gründen etwas ganz Besonderes:

  • Da die Schafrasse sehr selten ist und es in ganz Großbritannien nach unserem Wissen nicht mehr als 2 Höfe gibt, die Manx Loaghtan nach kontrolliert biologischer Tierhaltung züchten, gibt es auch das kostbare Melange-Garn nur in geringer Menge. Ist es vergriffen, muss bis zur nächsten Schafschur gewartet werden, die nur einmal im Jahr stattfindet.
    Das hat uns auf die Idee gebracht, eine Jahrgangswolle zu machen und dabei das Terroir, wo die Schafe gezüchtet werden, und das Jahr anzugeben – wie bei einem besonderen Wein. Die Einzigartigkeit kommt auch dadurch zum Ausdruck, das jeder Strang individuell nummeriert ist. Wie bei einem guten Wein kann auch die Wolle von Jahr zu Jahr ein wenig in Aussehen und Qualität variieren, je nach Witterung (mit Sonneneinstrahlung, Temperatur, Niederschlag) und Bodenverhältnissen, dem Terroir.
  • Das Garn weist durch die natürliche Farbe der Schafe dezente Hell-Dunkel-Reflexe auf und ist ungefärbt und in 6 Färbungen erhältlich. Es ist ein Fingering-Garn mit 200m/50g, das sich besonders gut für Fair Isle, Tücher, Accessoires und edle Oberteile eignet. Durch den hohen Anteil an weichster Merinowolle trägt es sich angenehm auf der Haut.
  • Die komplette Verarbeitung erfolgt, wie bei allen unseren Garnen, in England nach strengen GOTS-Richtlinien, ohne gefährliche Chemikalien, mit strengen Rückstandskontrollen und unter geprüft fairen Arbeitsbedingungen.
  • 0.50 Euro von jedem verkauften Strang spenden wir an den Rare Breeds Survival Trust, der sich für gefährdete Schafrassen in Großbritannien einsetzt. Wir hoffen dadurch zur Unterstützung und weiteren Verbreitung dieser einzigartigen vierbeinigen Überlebenskünstler beitragen zu können.

Artenschutz

Großbritannien hat eine lange Tradition der Schafhaltung und mit fast 60 Schafrassen eine faszinierende Vielfalt. Knapp die Hälfte dieser Rassen ist aber laut dem Rare Breeds Survival Trust (RBST) vom Aussterben bedroht. Der RBST setzt sich für die Erhaltung bedrohter Nutztierrassen und besonders auch von Schafen in Großbritannien ein. Er gibt auch eine Liste bedrohter Arten heraus.

In Deutschland gibt es eine Organisation mit demselben Anliegen, die Gesellschaft zur Erhaltung alter und gefährdeter Haustierrassen e.V. (GEH). Sie initiierte unter anderem das Arche-Projekt mit über 90 Betrieben bundesweit, betreibt ein Patenschaftsprojekt und unterstützt mit Regionalgruppen die Arbeit vor Ort.

Rosy Green Wool unterstützt den RBST durch eine Spende aus jedem verkauften Melange-Strang und die GEH durch eine Schafpatenschaft.

Die Schaffarm

Die Manx Rohwolle, die wir für unsere Jahrgangswolle verwenden, stammt aus kontrolliert biologischer Tierhaltung vom Gut Fowlescombe im englischen Devon.

Das in der Nähe von Dartmoor gelegene Fowlescombe hat eine Geschichte, die bis ins Jahr 1537 zurückführt, und wird seit vielen Jahren mit Hingabe von Barbara und Richard Barker geführt. Ihr Hof ist nach ökologischen Kriterien durch die Soil Association zertifiziert und sie setzen sich weit über den Erhalt bedrohter Arten hinausgehend für Tiere und Umwelt ein, unter anderem als Mitglieder des Komitees der Devon Support Group des RBST. Auf Fowlescombe kann man auch in schöner Umgebung Ferien machen - 2009/2010 hat die Farm den Beautiful Farm Award für West- und Südwest-Großbritannien gewonnen.

Wir haben Fowlescombe das erste Mal im Juni 2014 zur Schafschur besucht, um Barbara, Richard und ihre außergewöhnlichen Schafe kennenzulernen. Die Tiere weiden dort mit viel Auslauf auf verschiedenen Hügeln und Apfelwiesen – das Anwesen erstreckt sich über sagenhafte 191 Hektar Land. Insgesamt leben dort derzeit ca. 100 weibliche Tiere (Manx Loaghtan und Hebridean), zusammen mit den Lämmern und Männchen beläuft sich der Bestand auf ca. 250 Tiere.

In unserem Video erzählt Richard über die Fowlescombe Schafherde.

Manx Merino Garn zum Färben

Auf unserer Suche nach Bio-Wolle von seltenen Schafrassen haben wir auch das schöne Landgut Langley Chase in Wiltshire (England) besucht, auf dem sich Jane Kallaway liebevoll um ihre Tiere kümmert. Glücklicherweise können wir von dort nun ebenfalls Manx Loaghtan Bio-Wolle bekommen, so dass wir dieses außergewöhnliche Garn nun auch für Handfärber anbieten können. Mehr zu den Eigenschaften des Garns finden Sie hier.

Video Video: Die Fowlescombe Schafherde
Img 4453
Img 4509
Img 4473
Img 4477
Img 4583
Img 4566
Img 4627
Img 4723
Img 4382
Img 4469
Img 4735
Fowlescombe: Barbara und Richard Barker
Img 6239
Langley Chase: Jane Kallaway (links) und ihre Manx Loaghtans mit Rosy

We use cookies to help us optimize and continuously improve our website for you. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. For further information on cookies, please refer to our Privacy Notice.

Manx Loaghtan

The Sheep

Manx Loaghtan is an endangered sheep breed that is originally from the Isle of Man in the Irish Sea and that was almost extinct at the beginning of the 1970's. Meanwhile their number has increased to about 1500 ewes, but nevertheless the species is still at high risk. Today, Manx Loaghtan are bred only very rarely, because they do not fulfill the commercial requirements that dictate white wool and a faster growth of the lambs.

The name is Gaelic, basically meaning „brown sheep from the Isle of Man“. The wool of the Manx varies from caramel, when bleached by the English sun, to chocolate brown, when freshly shorn. Both the rams and ewes have horns. However, the rams can have 4, and in rare cases even 6 horns.

Like the Hebridean sheep, the Manx are a primitive sheep breed, which has adapted to its landscape over the course of centuries without commercial sheep farming.

Our Unique Vintage Yarn – a Rarity

We refine the brown Manx Loaghtan wool with our particularly soft, white Merino wool in order to create the luxurious mélange yarn Manx Merino Fine. It is, for many reasons, something very special:

  • Because the sheep breed is so rare and, to our knowledge, there are only two sheep farms in the entire United Kingdom that keep Manx Loaghtan according to organic farming standards, the precious mélange yarn is also produced only in small amounts. Once it is out of stock, we have to wait for the next sheep shearing, which takes place only once per year.
    Therefore we came up with the idea to create a yearly vintage yarn with its terroir, where the sheep are bred, and the year indicated – as is common for a special wine. Similar to a good wine, the appearance and quality of the wool can vary from year to year, depending on the weather conditions (with the amount of sun, temperature, rainfall) and soil conditions, all influencing the terroir.
  • The yarn has subtle light and dark reflexes due to the natural colour of the sheep and is available undyed and in many dye colours. It is a Fingering weight yarn with 200m/50g (218yds/50g) that is particularly suitable for Fair Isle knitting, shawls, accessories, and luxurious tops. Because of its high share of softest Merino wool it can be worn comfortably on the skin.
  • We process this yarn, as we do for all our yarns, according to the strict GOTS criteria, without dangerous chemicals, under strict controls for harmful residues, and with fair working conditions.
  • We donate a portion of the proceeds to the Rare Breeds Survival Trust which is committed to the protection of endangered sheep breeds in Great Britain. This way we already raised more than 13000 € for them. We hope that by doing so we are able to contribute to the support and further spread of these unique four-legged survivalists.

Protection of the Species

Great Britain has a long tradition of sheep farming and with almost 60 different breeds a fascinating variety. However, almost half of these breeds are in danger of extinction according to the Rare Breeds Survival Trust (RBST). The RBST is committed to the protection of endangered breeds of farm animals and especially of sheep in Great Britain. It also publishes a list of endangered species.

In Germany, there is an organization with a similar concern, the Gesellschaft zur Erhaltung alter und gefährdeter Haustierrassen e.V. (GEH). It initiated, among other things, the Arche project with over 90 participating farms in Germany, organises an animal sponsorship project and supports local work by means of regional groups.

Rosy Green Wool supports the RBST with a donation from Manx yarns sold and the German equivalent GEH by means of a sheep sponsorship.

Langley Chase Farm

The Manx raw wool we currently use for our yarn comes from certified organic farm Langley Chase in Wiltshire, England.

Jane Kallaway writes on her website about the history of her farm:

I started the flock, with the help of my family, after the BSE crisis and my concern over what my family was eating, where it came from and how it was reared. I also wanted to help save a rare breed and produce food organically. I had always been interested in keeping sheep, so before I started I researched rare breeds, particularly those termed ‘at risk’ and in need of support. Apart from choosing the right breed it was also extremely important to me to be organic. As soon as I started the flock we converted all our land to organic production and joined the Soil Association, as it has the highest organic standards in the UK.

We visited Jane Kallaway 2016 on Langley Chase and were able to see for ourselves the large meadows where the herd grazes.

Fowlescombe Farm

The previous shearing years are from Fowlescombe Farm in Devon, England. The estate, situated near Dartmoor, has a history dating back to the year 1537. For many years it has been run with dedication by Barbara Barker, together with her husband Richard, until his early death. It is certified by the Soil Association to organic standards. The Barkers are committed not only to the conservation of rare sheep breeds, but to the protection of animals and environment in a much broader sense and they are members of the committee of the RBST's Devon Support Group. Fowlescombe offers holiday cottages in a magnificent landscape – 2009/2010 the farm has won the Beautiful Farm Award for West- and Southwest Great Britain.

We first visited Fowlescombe in June 2014 for the sheep shearing in order to meet Barbara, Richard and their exceptional sheep. The animals graze on bountiful pastures over several hills and on meadows with apple trees. The lands stretch over 191 hectars in all. Currently, they have about 100 ewes of the Manx Loaghtan and Hebridean breeds. Together with the lambs and rams, there are about 250 sheep in total on the farm.

In our video Richard tells us about the Fowlescombe flock.

Img 6148
Img 6299
Img 6086
Img 6310
Img 6185
Img 6119
Img 4627
Img 4723
Img 6080
Img 6239
Langley Chase: Jane Kallaway (left) and her Manx Loaghtans with Rosy
Img 6282
Img 4735
Fowlescombe: Barbara and Richard Barker
Video Video: The Fowlescombe Flock